I Am, I Am, I Am - Maggie O'Farrell

I Am, I Am, I Am

By Maggie O'Farrell

  • Release Date: 2018-02-06
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • Book: I Am, I Am, I Am
I Am, I Am, I Am book review score

4 Score: 4 (From 8 Ratings)

I Am, I Am, I Am Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

I Am, I Am, I Am is a great book. Our editors rated it with a top 5 stars.

"I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O’Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book."
—Ann Patchett

An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.


We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers.
Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

User reviews about the book

  • Not mind blowing; some parts interesting

    3
    By Sidwell's Show
    The idea is that the author recounts 17 near death experiences but the last 1/3 was devoted to her ill daughter- somewhat of a disconnect. The author bobs in and out of events without neatly transitioning to the next.

Post your review here